Jane Mangum

When I began to search for the roots of Nancy Catherine Crawford, my great-grandmother, I found some facts fairly rapidly. Nancy Catherine was born in Mississippi, in 1850, she died in Indian Territory in 1905. First check, Mississippi for a Nancy Crawford, bingo, Itawamba County, Mississippi. Okay, not so bingo, Crardford doesn’t really pop up when searching for Crawford. In any case, there she was, with her mother George W. and her mother Jane.
Next stop, searching available records online for Jane and George, yielded a record on Itawamba Historical Society for Jane Mangum and George Crawford, the officiant was Samuel Adair:
46 George Crawford Jane Mangum 8 Jun 1841 Samuel Adair
So, her name was Mangum. Now, to what specific Mangum family does Jane belong? There is a John Mangum in Itawamba County in 1840 with a daughter of the appropriate age. Checking published genealogies, though, I found that John did, indeed, have a daughter named Jane, but, these genealogies had her married to Jedediah Brown. Were these right? There was no record for a marriage of Jane and Jedediah in Mississippi. There was a Cyrus Mangum in Pickens County, AL, a son of John, who also had a daughter in the correct category in 1840. But this daughter turned out to be Mary Mangum who married John Turman and followed her father’s family to Texas.

I became increasingly convinced that my Jane was John’s daughter, and that ‘accepted’ genealogies have her married to the wrong man [Jedediah Brown] and born in the wrong place, I had to search all the possibilities. That is, I know that my Jane Mangum married in Itawamba County, that the only family of Mangums in Itawamba county are John’s family. But as yet, I had no ‘smoking gun’, so to speak, to directly connect her to him, a will would be handy but did not appear to exist. So, I had been ‘proving’ the connection by disproving other possibilities, e.g., did a grand daughter come with them to MS, etc. and also by making associations, e.g., my Jane Mangum and George Crawford were married by Samuel Adair, husband to Gemima Mangum, also John’s daughter. Curiously, I could find no listing of children for the Mangum – Brown connection, nor could I find a Jedediah, or even a J* Brown in any pertinent census years.
Apparently, the Jedediah Brown information was asserted, without any accompanying proof, by a descendant of a collateral line who was trying to get into the DAR. As it wasn’t important to the claimant’s request for DAR membership, it went unchallenged.
The only thing I can surmise for all these Jane Mangum incongruities is that there were three Jane Mangum’s born about 1824 – 1826 time frame: one in Tennessee, one in South Carolina, and one in Alabama, John’s daughter. The South Carolina Jane Mangum married an M. D. Brown. The Tennessee woman, Sarah Jane Mangum, was born in Hardin County, in 1826 and married Daniel Hitchcock. My Jane Mangum was born in May of 1825, in Alabama, as she reports on most every census. Of course she could have been born in TN while her mother was visiting there and was not aware of it. Curiously, again, Jane Mangum Crawford apparently claimed to one of her children to have been born in Scotland, who knows why, or at what time in her life. Looks like to me that all the Janes were ‘stirred’ together and came out as one person.
Jane Mangum Crawford died in 1904 in Oklahoma. At least her tombstone has that date. If my Jane Mangum is John and Rebecca’s daughter, any and all of her work would have been done as proxies, if that’s the correct word, as she never became Mormon, but was, I think, a Baptist, as were most of the Crawfords. On searches that I have done for ‘Jane Mangum’ on familysearch.org, I have noticed that the only marriage that is listed that is from a primary source is the Crawford one, the Jedediah Brown info is not only not primary but and is very vague, e.g. anywhere from 1840-1854 and Tennessee to Alabama to Mississippi for the same event. That’s piling on the suspicions for me. I don’t have obituaries, but another Crawford cousin is sending photos of Jane’s tombstone. I don’t know quite why, again, but it has her name as Virginia Crawford. In all official records, she used Jane, not only her marriage but also census. I will ask if they know of any obituaries for them and start searching if they don’t. Newspapers were few and far between in Indian Territory for Jane; George has a higher chance as he died in Arkansas.”

Finally, I found someone who had a wonderfully well researched amount of information on worldconnect, Kerry Petersen. When the “official records” aren’t enough to connect all the dots, reaching out is the way to go. Especially, as it was beginning to appear, Jane had not moved with her family to Nauvoo, then migrated to Utah, so the story of the family went with them and not much stayed with Jane. I emailed Kerry. Kerry is an excellent researcher and a generous person to boot. I sent him the paragraphs above. He sent out the word to the “cousins” and soon, a record was found which substantiated my thougts, in one beautiful sentence from a grandson of John Mangum, Samuel Newton Adair and son of Samuel Jefferson Adair and Gemima Mangum Adair: “,…, and Aunt Jenny married George Crawford”.
So, turns out, Delta Hale asserted the Jedediah Brown marriage in her book and on her DAR application. Now, thanks to the primary records found in the official records and the transcription which Kerry sourced and Becky Hamblin Adair obtained from her great-great aunt Thora Adair, the DAR accepted my application and has deemed this information to be the correct history of Jane.
Jane, you deserve a “Real Daughter” marker for your grave.

5 Responses to “Jane Mangum”

  1. Sarah Jane Mangum, born about 1826, Hardin County, TN was the d/o Wiley P. Mangum, born 1795, and Mary McSwain.

    I believe Wiley P. Mangum, born 1795, was the eldest son of John Mangum, the patroit, and Mary Murdock Mangum of SC.

    Mary Mangum Mayes and myself got a male Mangum from our lineage to DNA test, his DNA was an exact match to John Mangum, the patroit.

    Jo Ann Crafton

    • I apologize for my lack of knowledge, but how is dna obtained from John Mangum, the patriot?
      June Crawford Sanders

      • June,
        I think that Jo Ann meant that the tested DNA matched another male descendant of John Mangum, the Patriot.
        Paula

      • June,

        The DNA results of ________ MANGUM, the g-g-g grandson of Wiley P. Mangum, born 1795, and died in the 1880’s in Hardin County, TN…This “male” Mangum descendant’s DNA was a perfect match to the the “male” Mangum descendants of John Mangum, born 1763 and died in the 1840’s in Itawamba County, MS.

        My uncle Jones Mangum, born 1898, “my mother’s brother”, Jones Mangum married Emma Murdock. Emma Murdock Mangum, was a descendant of Wm Murdock who was the brother of Mary Murdock Mangum, the first wife of John Mangum, born 1763.

        I am not saying this proves that John Mangum, born 1763, was the father of my g-g grandpa Wiley P. Mangum of Hardin County, TN…even though family tradition says Wiley P. Mangum was the eldest son of John Mangum, a patroit of the Rev War . I’m just saying these Mangum’s and Murdock’s of Newberry, SC, were connected for many, many years.

        Jo Ann Crafton

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

